Book Review: Spellcaster by Cara Lynn Shultz

Title: Spellcaster (Spellbound #2)
Author: Cara Lynn Shultz
Pages: 384
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
ISNB: 0373210507
Source: Netgalley

Finding your eternal soulmate – easy.

Stopping a true-love-hungry evil – not so much…

After breaking a centuries-old romantic curse, Emma Connor is (almost) glad to get back to normal problems. Although…it’s not easy dealing with the jealous cliques and gossip that rule her exclusive Upper East Side prep, even for a sixteen-year-old newbie witch. Having the most-wanted boy in school as her eternal soul mate sure helps ease the pain-especially since wealthy, rocker-hot Brendan Salinger is very good at staying irresistibly close….

But something dark and hungry is using Emma and Brendan’s deepest fears to reveal damaging secrets and destroy their trust in each other. And Emma’s crash course in über-spells may not be enough to keep them safe…or to stop an inhuman force bent on making their unsuspected power its own.

REVIEW

Soulmates reincarnated, two souls forever destined to be together – sounds like your perfect tale, right? Well not much for me and here’s a run down of what I think of the book.

Brendan and Emma’s relationship is cute being teenagers and all, hilarious with their banter and whatnot, gushing with romance – but sometimes MOST OF THE TIME I feel like it’s too much. I get that the two are a happy couple, reincarnated souls but the author didn’t need to write it in big letters. We get it! There were times that I enjoyed reading about it but there were also instances that I just rolled my eyes and flipped the pages.

Brendan has a heroine complex, his character didn’t work for me. Angelique was surprisingly entertaining. I loved her character being a devoted friend and a passionate witch. Emma, well Emma’s as stubborn as Brendan but less annoying and more quirky. I had a lot of laugh reading her thoughts and one I can remember is:

Of course, the handle just had to be carved with a bunch of grinning skulls. I would never be so lucky as to be attacked with a boring old wooden-handled steak knife, would I? Noo… I get the skull monsters.

Megan, who presumably is a powerful witch is not as threatening as I want her to be. Texting Angelique excessively! Seriously. As strong as she is, all she does is text threats? okay, moving on . . .

The library scene was too much for me. I mean, there was just too many pity points and “I am sorry” thrown back and forth that I can’t help rolling my eyes. It was too much drama, too many dialogues. To top it off, Brendan’s idea of stopping a witch is with a restraining order – well okay, great thinking. That was hilarious. The confrontation between Angelique and Brendan near the ending was a pain as well – that was the part where I totally hated Brendan’s character.

I seriously wanted to like this book, alot of readers seemed to love Spellbound but this book failed to make my heart flutter. Maybe I should read the first book and re-read this again to get a different feel – but if the first one is almost the same as this book, I think I’ll pass. Don’t get me wrong, I did not hate the book it’s just that I feel that this was too “teen-ish” and too much drama for me. It was just not working for me at all. *sigh*

One thought on “Book Review: Spellcaster by Cara Lynn Shultz

  1. Do you have a spam problem on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; we have created some nice approaches and were searching to swap options with other individuals, be certain to fire me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

Leave a Reply

