Manga Review: Dance In The Vampire Bund, Vol. 1

I have never read manga, this is my first time reading and reviewing one so I hope I do this review any justice. 🙂 I am still searching for  materials since I am not initially familiar with manga (manga fans, any suggestions? I am not a picky reader) and I happen to find this series which is about vampires. I won’t pretend that I know these stuff but I’ll do my best and forgive me if I don’t include technical terms at first, I’ll do a thorough research these coming days about manga I swear! Enough babbling, let’s discuss Dance In The Vampire Bund, Vol. 1.

Author: Nozomu Tamaki
Pages: 192
Publisher: Seven Seas
ISBN: 1933164808

The most original vampire story in centuries!

After millennia in hiding, Mina Tepes, the princess of the ancient covenant and ruler of all vampires, wants change. Using the vast wealth of the Tepes line, she has paid off the entire gross national debt of Japan and in so doing, gained the authority to create a “special district” off the coast of Japan that is to become the future haven for vampires from all over the world!

Now, on the eve of the landmark press conference announcing the existence of vampires to the world, terrorists and rival factions are plotting to assassinate Mina Tepes.

I don’t know if reading Dance in the Vampire Bund was a great choice for a first time reader like me but there were no regrets here. 🙂 I enjoyed reading through the pages in spite some things that most may find uncomfortable. Like most vampire and paranormal stories, Dance in the Vampire Bund will tackle werewolves, vampires, intricacies between the two worlds and the issues imposed with their life and how they manage to co-mingle with humans. Princess Mina decided to create a bund or haven for vampires where in they can live peacefully together.

This is the first page, so basing from that picture alone with Mina on the right, you’ll probably have an idea on what to expect in the next few pages. Akira is supposedly Princess Mina’s knight/protector/partner or whatever you want to brand him. Basically, he swore his life to her forever.

This is their first time meeting again. Mina seems to be a harmless kiddo here – old vampire in young children’s body is not a new concept. I believe Anita Blake (Laurell K. Hamilton’s heroine in the Anita Blake Series) first encountered an old vampire who was in a young girls body.

This is an example of why some may have an issue of reading this series. It’s the idea of Akira and Mina together, I believe the exact term is Lolicon? Lolicon according to Wikipedia:

In Japan, the term describes an attraction to underage girls (whether prepubescent, pubescent, or post-pubescent) or an individual with such an attraction. In Japan, the term describes an attraction to underage girls (whether prepubescent, pubescent, or post-pubescent)It is also commonly used when referring to lolicon manga or lolicon anime, a genre of manga and anime wherein childlike female characters are often depicted in an erotic manner or an individual with such an attraction.

Indeed there is a lot of nude scenes and “inappropriate” manner but remember that this is very common (or so it seems) in manga (or in this sub genre of manga) so I wasn’t too bothered reading it and if you are very familiar with vampire novels and paranormal, that is also used commonly.

Another thing I found very fascinating in manga or anime is the Japanese fascination with sexy ladies having big bossoms. 🙂 The picture above is when Akira captured the culprit, trying to save Princess Mina’s life.

Another idea I loved in this series is the idea of “fangless” vampires (yes I have read books 1-8 so I apologize for the spoiler) which will be introduced more as the story progress. An to top that, aren’t these fangless kiddo vampires cute???

Anyway, it was a very exciting read. The story line was intriguing and very promising plus it was a new concept regarding vampires. Granted that it is only 192 pages but I have devoured this volume in less than an hour, that was how exciting it was. I couldn’t put it down. The artwork was amazing as well. I knew that Japanese artist are very talented when it comes to anime but I now have a new appreciation with manga – manga that never did interest me before. I can definitely say that I am a new fan of manga and I hope my journey to discovering new reads is as exciting as reading Dance in the Vampire Bund.

And did I tell you that there’s a side stories as well in the last 2-3 pages titled Dance with the Vampire Maid(s).

QUESTION: For avid manga fans, what are your recommendations for me as a newbie to the genre? 🙂 I have Amazing Agent Luna waiting to be read and reviewed but I’d like your opinion very much.

Leave a Reply

