DNF: The Demi-Monde: Winter by Rod Ress

Title: The Demi-Monde: Winter
Author: Rod Rees
Pages: 522
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
ISBN: 1849163022

EXPERIENCE THE ULTIMATE IN VIRTUAL REALITY. The Demi-Monde is the most advanced computer simulation ever devised. Created to prepare soldiers for the nightmarish reality of urban warfare, it is a virtual world locked in eternal civil war. Its thirty million digital inhabitants are ruled by duplicates of some of history’s cruellest tyrants: Reinhard Heydrich, the architect of the Holocaust; Beria, Stalin’s arch executioner; Torquemada, the pitiless Inquisitor General; Robespierre, the face of the Reign of Terror. But something has gone badly wrong inside the Demi-Monde, and the US President’s daughter has become trapped in this terrible world. It falls to eighteen-year-old Ella Thomas to rescue her, yet once Ella has entered the Demi-Monde she finds that everything is not as it seems, that its cyber-walls are struggling to contain the evil within and that the Real World is in more danger than anyone realises.

THOUGHTS

More of an explanation than a review since I am marking this book as a DNF. I’ve had Demo-Monde in my reader for awhile now and sometimes a reader has to admit defeat when it comes to books that one just can’t grasp. I had issue with the book from the very start. First was the information dumped. It was overwhelming and I wasn’t appreciating the way the author laid all the facts right there. It was like being given a bulk of information to absorb right from the very start without the chance to get used to the setup first – if you know what I mean. Second was the toggle styled-acronym-slang-terms in the book that the author somehow thought necessary. I couldn’t get pass that especially when you read it almost line per line and you are lost with what is being talked about. I believe it was a vital part of the novel itself but for me it was just distracting. And lastly, I was not connecting to it. There was no love exchanged between Demi-Monde and I. It has a promising premise but reading it wasn’t as appealing to me as I wanted it to be.

I really reaLLY REALLY wanted to like this book but if I can’t get pass a few chapters, I need to stop entirely to avoid being disappointed in the end right? *sigh* Maybe in a few months I’ll revisit Demi-Monde and maybe then I’ll have a new view but for now, I just can’t.

Here are other reviews from readers who enjoyed it so you can decide if you want to read it:

Leave a Reply

