Book Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen

Title: Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers #1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Pages: 348
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
ISBN: 0373210477
Source: Netgalley

I don’t do dangerous. Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that’s me. But I just couldn’t pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me…something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It’s like part of me is missing-and I don’t know if I can get it back.

Then there’s Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he’s keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he’s what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me.

REVIEW

The conflict between angels and demons is in action and Samantha is right in the middle of it.

Every novel needs an interesting prologue or first chapter asides having a fascinating blurb in order for readers to pick up a book – Dark Kiss had all those. Another is a cover, that’s another check for Dark Kiss and of course you need a mysterious title, another check.  With all those elements, Dark Kiss became a quick and enjoyable read unfortunately the concept wasn’t unique enough to make it stand out from the rest. I actually thought as if I am watching another episode of Supernatural (which I totally adore and watch every episode) but that was also the same reason why I thoroughly enjoyed Dark Kiss. It had everything that I crave – angel vs. Demon, conflict, confusion, drama and action all rolled into one.

At some point, the story became predictable and that sucked but as I said since I am enjoyed reading Dark Kiss I didn’t mind it much to put the book down which was a good decision since halfway through the story it definitely gets better.

There’s one scene that I did enjoy most –

“Honestly, Bishop. You should have found me before this. Why did you wait till I came here?” His jaw was tight.

“I want to handle this on my own.”

“Nice thought. But everybody needs a bit of help sometimes.”

Samantha is a strong character. I liked her a lot. Very dedicated to the cause in spite not knowing what it is and who to trust. Bishop on the other hand seemed vulnerable (actually he reminds of Castiel in Supernatural) but that is very important to the story so I just had to deal. Kraven on the other hand I loved very much – sarcastic and funny. Stating that, I wonder why do supporting characters seem to be almost everybody’s favorites? Hmmmm I need to figure that out. Moving on, I haven’t read much about Roth, Zach and Connor but hoping to in the next book. Anyway, the last few chapters was soo good. Questions were answered and a few more left hanging for the next book. What Carly did and what became of her that was unexpected- I can definitely see a vengeful Carly in the future but who knows?

All in all – enjoyable read but still lacks the attitude to make it stand out among the rest of novels with similar stories. Can recommend it especially if you enjoy the points I stated above – danger, angels, demons, conflict. If you love those, you might want to pick this book. 🙂

One thought on “Book Review: Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen

Leave a Reply

