Book Review: The Fault in our Stars by John Green

Title: The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Pages: 318 pages
Publisher: Dutton Books
ISBN: 0525478817

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

REVIEW

I’ve never read a John Green book and most often when there’s a huge hype about a book, I am very hesitant to read it because most hyped books are just exaggerated praises and most of the time when I read one I am disappointed. It’s like there’s something in a particular hyped book that I am not getting like most readers are. Maybe that’s just me but that’s one reason why I didn’t want to read The Fault in Our Stars – I didn’t want to be disappointed. I wanted to read this before all the attention poured by the masses but they got into it and boom! Anyway, last night I decided to read it after putting it off for so long and I was just engulfed by it. I read it and I definitely felt the emotions had my share of tears through The Fault in Our Stars. I just can’t help it!

It’s hard to fathom teenagers or children to go through such a terrible ordeal such as cancer but as they said – nobody is safe once it gets you. The story has such weight that I found myself thinking if John Green can deliver a book that’ll leave a mark to his readers but after finishing The Fault in Our Stars, I think I’ll never doubt John Green’s talent in the future. The Fault in Our Stars was just amazing.

Hazel and Augustus are perfect. Their beginning was played cool and their relationship evolved naturally as time permitted it to be. It wasn’t rushed, it didn’t seemed fake and it had that right moment effect to it. They were both quirky, funny and made the best there is to their lives. It wasn’t “i-am-dying-pity-me-” sort of story but rather it gave us strength, happiness and contentment vibe to it. It was also a winner in the category of “most-bookmarked/quoted-book” since I have bookmarked a few of my own. I know some of you already know these quotes but I still like to leave some here:

Always’ was a promise! How can you just break the promise?

“Sometimes people don’t understand the promises they’re making when they make them,” I said

That quote I specially like and agree 100%. Granted that a lot of people will cry bucketful with The Fault in Our Stars and other stories with similar themes but Green captured the right emotions for this book and that’s what made it a best seller.

Most of the time, I could forget about it, but the inexorable truth is this: they might be glad to have me around, but I was the alpha and the omega of my parents’ suffering.

This one was just heart melting. I am not a cancer patient nor do I know one but Hazel’s emotion and fear about her parents are just heart breaking. How can one face these fears and how can one accept the fact that they will indeed die eventually and leave love ones behind no matter how hard they fight to stay? Life is indeed a matter of acceptance and to be able to face hard facts of life that nobody has power of controlling.

Here’s one favorite that I kept on seeing around and I know most of you guys also know and my heart just melted and went awwww and oohhh with this one!

I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that were all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am inlove with you.

It’s really hard to write a review that sums up your feelings towards a book so instead of writing all the technicalities and all the facts you need to know to read it i’ll just say this: This is the first John Green book that I have read and definitely wouldn’t be the last.

Kudos to John Green and his writing ability. Kudos to my fellow book readers who have read, reviewed and recommended this book. Kudos to other readers who will pick up this book and enjoy it. 5 Stars on my scale!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fault in our Stars by John Green

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

  2. Pingback: włazy żeliwne

Leave a Reply

