Review: Fire’s Fury by Lisa Papademetriou

Title: Fire’s Fury
Author: Lisa Papademetriou
Pages: 243
Publisher: Knopf Books
Source: Netgalley

At the end of Siren’s Storm, the Sirens were defeated, and now the town of Walfang is once again a peaceful beach community.

Or is it? Gretchen and Will are still haunted by the memories of the night the Sirens were destroyed—Gretchen because she can’t remember what happened and Will because he doesn’t know how to tell Gretchen what he saw. He doesn’t even understand what he saw, but he does know now that Gretchen is more than what she seems, more than a human girl. And at the same time, he is more in love with her than ever.

Gretchen knows there’s something wrong, too. She feels like an alien in her own body, but she doesn’t know why. And she feels a presence stalking her at every turn. Have the Sirens returned to Walfang? Or has some other force come to claim her?

REVIEW:

But maybe, in a strange way, everyone does have different hearts for different people.

Reading Fire’s Fury at first was confusing. It stared slow for me and I had a hard time focusing on the flow of the story but eventually it picked up and got my attention. The issue I had with it was since it started slow it also ended abruptly. The middle and ending part for me felt like it was written in haste leading to a confusing and somewhat “unfinished” conclusion. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad writing – I did enjoy it but I wasn’t connecting to the story no matter how focused I become. Given the time, maybe I’ll re-read the story and I might redo this review but for now it was a so-so book for me. Wasn’t excited about it, didn’t hate it at the same time. It was a love and hate relationship.

Leave a Reply

