Book Review: Survival by A.M. Hargrove

Title: Survival (The Guardians of Vesturon #1)
Author: A.M. Hargrove
Publisher: Self-pub
ISBN: 2940032876106
Source: Reading Addiction Blog Tour

“Maybe I was caught between the two worlds. I was having serious trouble distinguishing fantasy from reality.”

While on a backpacking trip in the Great Smoky Mountain National Park, nineteen-year-old Maddie Pearce finds her world has been thrown into a vortex and is madly spinning toward the impossible. Abducted by a mad psychopath, Maddie narrowly escapes with her life. But that is only the beginning. Her mysterious rescuer introduces her to a world that Maddie has difficulty accepting as reality. Will this strikingly gorgeous stranger be the key to her future or will she return to her mundane world, scarred from her experience? Follow Maddie as she is forced to make difficult decisions that carry her to mysterious places only to find that perhaps it was all for nothing.

REVIEW

** NOTE: This book has been read and reviewed prior to the edits of Survival. There maybe a lot of changes or there maybe none. Again, this review is written BEFORE any additional edits that was done by Hargrove recently.

Survival started sounding like a mystery thriller novel. Killers, prey, survival, death, psychopath. We are introduced to the killer and in a few chapters retold his background and the need-to-know details then the story took a spin at around 1/4 through the novel.

The next chapters lingered too long around Maddie’s recovery and how confused she was. It’s mostly back and forth questions of what happened, where she is, and stuff like that. I just felt the story needed to move on. Maddie’s exasperation was unavoidable and I am close to feeling the same as Maddie. Half of the book was too much word play and I kept on skipping through the pages.

Okay now the other part is Rayn’s POV. This part was also a lot of word play and re-encounter of what we already read. I can see what the author is trying to achieve but the dual POV is not working for me in Survival. It’s too much repeatition and that is where the appeal unfortunately disappears. I get that Rayn is hot, gorgeous and beautiful, perfect, awesome – but how many times does this have to be reiterated? We’ll also hear Maddie’s pity-babble, “I am not worthy of you” woes and after a few times it does get old.

The gushiness and mushy lines are overkill for me especially if they are repeated over and over. I just wanted to get past all the insta-love thing. I need to read more than I-love-her-so-much-I-can’t-be-without-her drama. In spite the things that bugged me in Survival, it is very unique and I do want to know how the story will pan out. Another thing I love about the story though is that we get to know about Rayn’s planet and background plus everything in between. This is the most important aspect in a story especially if your character is not human. One more thing I like is that although the author tends to linger on details a bit too much, that’s also her advantage. It’s very hard to write descriptively and make readers imagine what they are reading – in my opinion, the repetitions just needs to be toned down.

I really wanted to love this book but I just can’t. This is, as far as I can remember, the book with the most eye roll from me – it surpassed my disliked for the Morganville series and if you read that post you’ll know that it’s not good and that makes me sad because I had a lot of issues with the Morganville series. But since this is the first book of the series, I am willing to leave everything here and keep an open mind with book 2, Resurrection.

Is Survival for you? I really don’t know and I don’t want to tell you instantly don’t read it. I am hesitant myself but it is very promising and entertaining once you get past the issues I stated above or if you don’t mind my points stated. Maybe the other readers who rated it higher than 3 stars might help you though. Check them out HERE. This review is rated more of a 1.5 stars.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Survival by A.M. Hargrove

    • Hi Lizzy. Thank you for stopping by. I always try to explain why and what I didn’t like a particular book to help fellow readers decide. As I said, Survival looks promising but the way Hargrove wrote it was not working for me at the moment. What I would say though is this ” I have read Resurrection which is book 2 and I can definitely say that it is written better and more enjoyable that Survival.” 🙂

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Resurrection by A.M. Hargrove «

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Determinant by A.M. Hargrove «

Leave a Reply

