Book Review: That Kind of Guy by Mina V. Esguerra

Title: That Kind of Guy
Author: Mina V. Esguerra
Pages: 170
Publisher: Summit Books
ISBN: 9719902078

Good girl Julie never expected her hot former-player boyfriend to propose marriage. But when he did, she turned him down for reasons even she couldn’t figure out. Will she settle for a nice, safe guy instead? Or will she let him find his way back into her carefully guarded heart?

REVIEW

I first heard about That Kind of Guy from Chachic. I have never read any novel from a Filipino author and I never did want to (it’s a matter of preference or you can count the fact that I am not that familiar with books by Filipino authors) until I saw this in Booksale. It was very thin, the thinnest I have read so far.

I didn’t know what to expect from Esguerra or from That Kind of Guy but I know it is Chick Lit (a genre tht I don’t usually read a lot) and with the ton of Paranormal and YA novels I have read, this was a great escape. So That Kind of Guy introduces us to Julie and Anton. Julie is described and called Manang (means someone older), doesn’t go out much or socialize, someone who doesn’t have tons of friends and who has a routine of home and work and that’s it. Some may find her life boring but that’s how Julie is until she met Anton. Anton on the other hand is a social butterfly, very confident and suave. Julie wasn’t into Anton that much unlike Anton’s curiosity with Julie. The two eventually went on dates and became a couple – it was a happy relationship until that morning of Anton’s proposal.

There are a lot of things I love about this book –

  • It was written well and straight to the point.
  • It was not only a love story but it also had lessons for both parties.
  • I loved how Esguerra included Harry in the mix and Harry was a good contender to Anton. I almost thought he would win Julie over.
  • Open-ended finish. It’s up to the readers how they want to imagine the story to end.
  • Gorgeous cover, simple yet precise.
  • It was very short but didn’t lack the progress and story needed for readers to enjoy Julie and Anton.

I’d like to point out though that the characters were not described thoroughly. I only visualized Julie based on the cover and that’s it. I would have love a little description of the characters appearance asides their personalities. Another was that it’s very short – ha! I know I said that’s one thing I love but because I enjoyed this so much I wanted more but I guess I have to settle for another Esguerra book. 🙂 I would recommend this one to my friends, no doubt about it.

Leave a Reply

