Book Review: Dark Genesis by A.D. Koboah

The Solitary Bookworm and Enchanted Book Promotions presents Dark Genesis by A.D. Koboah

Title: Dark Genesis (The Darkling Trilogy #1)
Author: A.D. Koboah
Pages: 204
Source: Enchanted Book Promotions

Life for a female slave is one of hardship and unspeakable sorrow, something Luna knows only too well. But not even she could have foreseen the terror that would befall her one sultry Mississippi evening in the summer of 1807.

On her way back from a visit to see the African woman, a witch who has the herbs Luna needs to rid her of her abusive master’s child, she attracts the attention of a deadly being that lusts for blood. Forcibly removed from everything she knows by this tormented otherworldly creature, she is sure she will be dead by sunrise.

Dark Genesis is a love story set against the savage world of slavery in which a young woman who has been dehumanised by its horrors finds the courage to love, and in doing so, reclaims her humanity.

REVIEW

Dark Genesis was a lovely read filled with love, sacrifice and the right paranormal flavor. Dark Genesis is told by Luna via her diary. It was Luna’s version and memories of how her life was as a slave and then more. Luna is a slave from the 1800’s, an abused woman and a victim of circumstance. Luna was powerless until she meet “it”. It happened to be Avery, a vampire who have dreamt about Luna from long ago and waited for the time to actually meet and be with her and the story goes from there. But before Luna and Avery during the 1800’s Dark Genesis starts with Dallas – a rich and pampered witch who discovered Luna’s diary as she was looking into her grandmother’s stuff. The Marshall family is known to have good fortune yet with luck there comes a price to pay.

There are a lot of things I love about Dark Genesis. It tackles about the issues during the 1800’s which is a very heavy and painful yet powerful event concerning slaves. I love topics like this because it somehow gives me an idea of how it was then and how much struggle and sacrifices everyone is willing to do for their freedom.

Another thing I love about Dark Genesis is the devotion of the characters with one another – Mama Akosua’s love for Luna, Luna’s love for Avery, Jupiter’s devotion for Luna, and even Zila’s love for Master John. Dark Genesis shows us love in varying degrees and in different forms.

In addition, Dark Genesis was an easy read. I was quick to adapt to Koboah’s writing style BUT since this was retold in a diary format, I would have appreciated the story written differently.

The love between Luna and Avery wasn’t insta-love like most love story we read in paranormal novels. It took sometime for Luna to develop feelings for Avery and Luna showed us humanistic reaction like fear, hesitation and even hatred. It wasn’t a love at first sight deal. Yey right?

And lastly, Dark Genesis is the first book and it mostly gives us a detailed background of the characters to prepare us of what will happen in book 2. It started with Dallas but asides being mentioned in the first few chapters, that’s all we see from Dallas for now. So I am looking forward to seeing what happens to Dallas and what she’ll get herself into. This is a great start to hopefully an enjoyable trilogy.

Is Dark Genesis good – absolutely! Would I recommend it, definitely. Is it worth following, seems like it. If the next books will be as good as Dark Genesis then I am definitely recommending this one to paranormal lover and readers who enjoy a good unconventional love story.

EXCERPT

As I got nearer to the cabin, I saw that the door had been left open and a light was burning inside even though the sun had yet to go down. I approached gingerly. Already feeling the unease that always possessed me in the presence of the African woman, I walked up to the door, and stopped.

“Mama Akosua.”

There was a short spell of silence and then her voice floated out to me.

“I have been expecting you.” The voice was low and dry like the sound of rustling leaves.

She probably said that every time someone came to her door, no doubt to help foster the belief that she was a powerful all-seeing, all-knowing witch. But the words still sent icy fingers trailing down my spine and I swallowed before taking her words as permission to enter.

The cabin, which consisted of only one room, was rich with the slightly bitter, but not unpleasant, smell of dried herbs. Most of the room was taken up by a long wooden table, which held bottles, bowls and an assortment of other instruments that were used to prepare her concoctions. Every wall in the room was lined with shelves holding bottles, jars and baskets of fresh and dried herbs. The only evidence that someone lived in the cabin was the pallet in the corner. This was the most furniture I had seen in any slave cabin, but as her Master profited from the sale of her herbs, it was in his interest to make sure she had everything she needed. There was another smaller table in the centre of the room and that is where she sat, peering at me by the light of an oil lamp.

She was a small lithe woman with delicate features like mine. Her head was cleanly shaven and she would have been considered beautiful were it not for the scars, rows of lines about an inch long, marking her forehead and cheeks. It was rumoured that those scars had been self-inflicted when she was first brought to America as a slave. Some people whispered that she had done it to honour the customs of her people, others, that the journey, the horrors of the middle passage, had driven her to scar her face in madness and despair. Although I would never dare to ask her, I didn’t believe she had been driven insane. The shrewd dark eyes that met mine belonged to a strong, sharp mind and I doubted that anything could, or ever would, be able to break it.

“Evening, Mama Akosua,” I said as I walked into the circle of light.

There was still daylight outside but it didn’t seem to reach the small window in Mama Akosua’s cabin and so it was always dark in here no matter what the time of day.

She gestured to the chair opposite hers, her eyes never leaving my face. I moved to the chair and when I sat down, she pushed a small cup toward me.

“Drink,” she said.

I picked up the cup and sipped the cool concoction, which tasted vaguely of mint leaves. Whatever it was, it seemed to have an immediate effect because I no longer felt as hot and the fatigue, which had been pulling on me like lead weights, seemed to evaporate.

Feeling slightly better, I was able to meet the force of her gaze fully. She seemed to have aged a great deal since I last saw her, nearly four years ago. The lines around her eyes and the ones running from her nose to the corners of her mouth had deepened and although she was not yet forty years old, she looked much older.

She studied me for a few moments and a soft sigh escaped her when she finally shifted her gaze away from my face.

“It is as I feared,” she said and stood up, wincing from the small movement.

“You hurt?”

“It is a small price to pay,” she mumbled, more to herself it seemed.

She reached into a basket on one of the shelves and pulled out a small black cloth bundle. Moving back to the table she placed the bundle before her and when she sat down again she closed her eyes for a few seconds. She was clearly in a lot of pain.

“I have prepared what you need,” she said pulling open the cloth bundle to reveal six paper sachets of herbs.

There was no need for her to ask me why I was here. I would only risk making this dangerous journey for one reason.

“Take this tonight.” She pointed to the larger of the bundles. “The rest is to be taken for five nights after, to stop the bleeding.”

She tied up the bundle and pushed it across the table toward me.

“Thank you, Mama Akosua.”

“Is it the son this time?”

I looked up and met her intimidating gaze, but on this occasion, I couldn’t hold it. She knew how much these things shamed me yet it didn’t stop her from asking about them. When I answered, my voice was barely a whisper.

“Yes.”

AUTHOR BIO

Official Website | Goodreads

A.D. Koboah was born in London and completed an English Literature degree in 2000. Her first novel, Dark Genesis, was inspired by the concept of dehumanisation and the impact it can have on the psyche. She is currently working on a screenplay and will begin the sequel to Dark Genesis shortly.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Genesis by A.D. Koboah

  1. What I personally liked most about this book was that it focused on the 1800s, on slavery, etc. and planted a paranormal romance in the middle of all that. Loved your review!

    • I know! That is Dark Genesis’ strong points in my opinion. I enjoyed reading this book and to be honest, I wasn’t expecting much from it but yup – it blew me away. 🙂

  2. Hi Guys

    I just wanted to leave a quick note thanking Grace for such a wonderful review. I’m so glad you enjoyed Dark Genesis. I’m working on the second book which is narrated by Avery and I will do my best to meet your expectations 🙂

    All the best,

    ADK x

Leave a Reply

