Book Review: Phobia by C.A. Shives + 2x Giveaway

Title: Phobia
Author: C.A. Shives
Pages: 324
Publisher: Firestor Editions
Source: Enchanted Book Promotions

Ex-cop Artemis Herne thought he left the grit and crime of the city in the past when he moved to a small town in Pennsylvania. But the discovery of a woman’s dead body, bound and covered with snakes, sends panic through his community and ignites his investigative instincts.

As the serial killer continues to target his prey, Herne must confront his own haunted past to uncover the pattern in the deaths. He soon discovers that every victim suffers from a phobia. And every murder transforms the victim’s worst fear into reality.

Tormented by his personal demons, he is forced to face his own fears as he hunts for a murderer who uses terror for a weapon.

REVIEW

OMG! This is absolutely, incredibly, super dupppppeeer good material. Oh wait, good is not enough to describe Phobia – Phobia is FANTABULOUS! A must read in the suspense/thriller genre. It was arrrrrrrrrrrr amazing! Men on men I was blown from page one until the very last. It has been a long time since I read a good suspense novel and I am over the top joyous to have read Phobia.Β 

Phobia is a mutiple POV type of book BUT it isn’t confusing, so don’t be afraid. Shives has written it effectively and I can definitely see the gift for storytelling by Shives. Imagine from page one until the time that Herne solves the case I was trying to determine who the killer was and when it was time to name the killer I was mind boggled. The outcomes was unexpected. Amazing! The twist and turns was never ending and the story was very engaging. You’ll never run out of thoughts in your head trying to figure who is who.

The story was flawless. There was no information dump. There was no dull moment. It was just pure awesomeness and brilliantly executed. Every detail meshed perfectly creating an effecting thriller that all mystery lovers would enjoy!

Take note I am a great lover of thrillers and mysteries – I read Cornwell, Lescroart and Grisham books (before I got hooked on YA) like crazy but sometimes I get disappointed with one thing or the other BUT I can definitely tell you that Phobia and C.A Shives CAN compete with these well known authors – no doubt! I am looking forward to reading more of what Shives can offer and I encourage you too. Your money is well spent on Phobia I swear.

GIVEAWAY

Enchanted Book Promotions and CA Shives has generously allowed TSB’s followers to get a chance to win an eBooks copy of Phobia and/or $50 Amazon gift card.

GIVEAWAY 1: 1 eBook copy of Phobia. Open Internationally until Aug 15. All you have to do is leave a comment with your email and that’s it! No need to be a follower. Easy peasy.

GIVEAWAY 2: $50 Amazon Gift card. Open Internationally. Enter by using the Rafflecopter form in TSB’s Facebook page.

That’s 2 chances of winning and it doesn’t take 5 minutes to do both! Good luck to everyone.

AUTHOR BIO

Official Website | @CA_Shives | Facebook | Goodreads

C.A. Shives is the author of PHOBIA, a suspense novel based in a small Pennsylvania town.

When not reading, writing, editing, or publishing, C.A. enjoys watching a good action movie. The author also spends time target shooting on the range and raising backyard chickens.

C.A. loves cheesy poofs, Bruce Willis movies, and wine (often simultaneously). The author is also a fan of Professional Competitive Eating.

A second book in the Artemis Herne series is scheduled for a winter 2012 release. C.A.’s upcoming novel weaves a dark tale of horrific vigilante justice tainted by the bitter taste of revenge.

21 thoughts on “Book Review: Phobia by C.A. Shives + 2x Giveaway

  1. OOOOHHHH, this looks fabulous!! You sure seemed to like it πŸ™‚ I’ve been steeped in YA this summer, but I could definitely use some more grit back in my reading πŸ™‚ Love mysteries too and look forward to reading this one, win or no!

    hmbryan(at)alumni(dot)duke(dot)edu

  2. Wow, this is definitely psychological. I would love to sit and read this in a nice, cool room. Thanks so much for the giveaway!
    Lauren @ Mommabears Book Blog
    Lmackesy @ gmail.com

  3. This sounds amazing, I haven’t read a good thrller in ages, I think last one I read was by John Grisham.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. Awesome giveaway and great review this book looks so good. I have been really branching out this summer trying new genres but I have yet to pick up a thriller, I’m going to have to change that!! πŸ™‚
    huntress023(at)hotmail(dot)com

  5. I am going to take a giant leap here and say based on your review you really liked this book LOL I think it definitely sounds intriguing and would love to read it. I came across it earlier in the day today and while I was here saw it on your site. Thanks for sharing.
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

