Author Interview: Taylor Dean

Photobucket

Hello everyone! Today we have a guest dropping by to answer some of TSBs questions. Taylor Dean is on tour for her book Lancaster House with Reading Addiction Blog Tours so let’s all give it up for Taylor Dean. I already read and reviewed Lancaster House and I loved it. If you haven’t ready my review, click HERE.

The Solitary Bookworm: Who or what inspired you to be a writer?

Taylor Dean: A burning desire to commit my thoughts to paper. My stories were constantly running through my head, as if they were begging me to write them down. Once I write them, I no longer think about them. It’s as if I’m liberated. Free.

When my third daughter graduated from High School in 2006, I realized that my life was leaving me. I’d dedicated myself to being a stay-at-home Mom and I wondered what to do with myself. I still had my youngest son at home with me, but he was gone at school and track all day. I remember asking myself, ‘what should I do now?’ I’d always wanted to write a book. Years ago, when my children were small, I hastily scribbled the first few pages of two of my stories. But I never did anything more with it, I just didn’t have the time. One day I was speaking to my sister about the matter on the phone. I told her I was thinking of writing some children’s books (I’ve now written three—unpublished). She encouraged me to go for it and told me she thought I’d be good at writing. (she’s my biggest fan!) I knew it was what I wanted to do. By the time I sat down to write, however, I’d made the decision to write one of the stories that had been stuck in my head for over twenty years! It just happened to be Romantic Suspense. (Sierra) It was several years and three books later that my daughter begged me to write a paranormal story. (her favorite genre) That’s how Lancaster House came into being!

TSB: Literary heroes?

TD: In High School I fell in love with John Steinbeck novels after taking California Lit. It was the first time I really noticed literature. I grew up in California, only an hour away from the legendary Cannery Row in Monterey—and we visited it often. (a commercialized Cannery Row) One day I shared my Steinbeck obsession with my grandmother and she informed me that when she was in high school, Steinbeck’s novels were considered quite scandalous. Ha!

TSB: What do you prefer more eBooks or printed copies? Why?

TD: I prefer printed copies. Something about holding the book in your hand–it makes it feel real, like you’re really there with the characters. When I read from an ebook I don’t feel as ‘present’ in the story. Although, ebook reading sure is convenient!

TSB: If you hadn’t become a writer, what do you think you would be doing now?

TD: I’d probably be working at a local pre-school! Writing is so much more relaxing! Love this quote: Choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life.

TSB: Favorite genre?

TD: ROMANCE.

TSB: A book(s) that you won’t get tired of re-reading.

TD: Bid Time Return by Richard Matheson
(Somewhere in Time, the movie, was based on this book)

TSB: In one sentence, why should we read your book?

TD: I’ll quote some of my reviewers: “Because you have never read a book quite like this one!”

TSB: Any work in progress?

TD: I have six completed novels that I’m releasing over the next year and a half.

  • Lancaster House June 2012
  • Sierra June 2012
  • I Have People Sept. 2012
  • The Middle Aisle Dec. 2012
  • Joshua’s Folly March 2013
  • For Nick June 2013

I plan to write a military romance and a futuristic romance next.

Thank you Taylor Dean for that wonderful interview. Okay guys, to follow more of the tour here’s the schedule.

August 13 – My Cozie Corner – Review/Giveaway
August 14 – The Solitary Bookworm – Review/Interview
August 15 – The Thoughts of a Girl – Review/Giveaway
August 16 – My Reading Addiction – Interview/Giveaway/Excerpt/PROMO
August 17 – Lizzy’s Dark Fiction – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
August 18 – Hardcover Feedback – Giveaway/Excerpt/PROMO
August 18 – Woopeeyoo! – Giveaway/Excerpt/PROMO
August 19 – Bunny’s Review– Interview/Giveaway/Excerpt/PROMO
August 20 – Dive Under the Cover – PROMO
August 21 – Andi’s Book Review – Review/Giveaway/Excerpt
August 22 – Literature Lovers’ Labyrinth – Review/Excerpt
August 22 – Known to Read – PROMO
August 23 – Midtown Underground – Review/Excerpt
August 25 – Books, Books, the Magical Fruit – Interview/Giveaway/Excerpt/PROMO
August 26 – Two Fantasy Floozies – Review/Interview
August 27- Taking it One Page at a Time – Review/Interview/Giveaway
August 28 – Auggie Talk – Interview/Giveaway/Excerpt/PROMO
August 28 – The Book Faery Reviews – Excerpt/PROMO
2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Taylor Dean

Leave a Reply

