Book Review: Lancaster House by Taylor Dean

The Solitary Bookworm and Reading Addiction Blog Tours presents Lancaster House by Taylor Dean

Title: Lancaster House
Author:Taylor Dean
Pages:304
IsBN: 1475068689

Zoe Grayson needs a change. So, she moves to another state, purchases an old, dilapidated 1920s Victorian Mansion, and sets out to restore it to its former glory. As she begins the restoration, she finds herself falling in love with the old house . . . not to mention its illustrious builder, Mr. Lancaster. Zoe becomes obsessed with the house as she discovers its secrets; hidden rooms, secret passageways . . . and a mysterious man who seems to think the house is his. Who is he? More importantly, how does he live in her home unseen and unheard?

The unexpected answers leave her reeling—and questioning everything she’s ever known. To her dismay, Zoe’s actions land her in the local psychiatric hospital, scheming for ways to return to Lancaster House . . . and the love of her life.

REVIEW

Lancaster House – wow this novel blew me away. Ha! I initially though Lancaster House was a ghost story – wrong. I had a love and hate relationship with Lancaster House. There were a few things that I didn’t quite well understand BUT there are definitely good things about this novel. Let’s discuss first what I didn’t like –

Andre as a vampire – it wasn’t believable to me. I get why Dean wrote it as it was but I really can’t see Andre as a vampire. But the revelation from my initial though of ghost to vampire was left me speechless. I wasn’t expecting that turn of events.

Zoe was very depended – as in she eventually stopped “living” her life because she was obsessed with Andre. I apologized for using the word obsessed but that’s how Zoe really was resulting to her taking her life because she can’t be without Andre.

Abrupt ending – when it ended I was like “What the heck? What happened?” in a good way. I was so taken by the story that I was taken back by the sudden ending of the story. It left me craving for the next book right there and then.

Well basically these are minor details and it doesn’t really hinder a reader from enjoying the book so it doesn’t really matter. So what’s good about Lancaster House?

The house. There’s really no explanation there since the whole story in my opinion revolves around the house. Andre and Zoe are just secondary compared to how Dean described and highlighted the house in this story. This is also one thing I love about Lancaster House – it was very detailed. I can really picture the house.

Uniqueness. Without giving away much detail I can say that “Lancaster House is not what you perceive it to be. Prepare to be amazed at how different Lancaster House is to your usual reads.

How the story was told. It was like looking into Zoe’s mind since it is based on Zoe’s POV and I thoroughly enjoyed her session with the doctor in charge of her care. It was actually like reading her diary or more like watching a replay of events as it happened. Wade (her doctor) was caring and gentle with Zoe and you can really see his doubt through the sessions. The ending didn’t give any hint if we’ll see the doctor again or not but lets see.

Don’t be fooled by my abrupt ending above since the story was tightly wrapped in the end. You’ll just have this urge to grab a copy to know what happened next. It was a healthy mix of excitement and frustration. Lancaster House is a recommended read. If you haven’t got a copy, grab one now. 😀

SIDE NOTE: Watch out for my interview with Taylor Dean to be posted this afternoon! 🙂

DISCLOSURE – Please place somewhere in the post for all reviews!
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of Reading Addiction Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Reading Addiction Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*

AUTHOR BIO

Official Website | Facebook

Taylor Dean lives in Texas and is the mother of four grown children. Upon finding herself with an empty nest, she began to write the stories that were always wandering around in her head, quickly finding that she had a passion for writing, specifically romance. Whether it’s paranormal, contemporary, or suspense—you’ll find all sub-genres of romance in her line-up.
Photobucket

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Lancaster House by Taylor Dean

  1. Thanks for the great review, Mary Grace! I’m glad you enjoyed Lancaster House. BTW, the ‘vampire thing’ was an issue of much debate in my household!! In the end, for reasons I won’t give away here, I decided it was necessary to the story! At any rate, I’m thrilled that you loved it! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my book. I appreciate your comments greatly.

    • Hey Taylor! It was my pleasure. I enjoyed it as much as the other readers. I think the reason why I believe was because I was so fixed on thinking that Andre was a ghost. The vampire angle completely threw me out of my reading trance. 🙂 But as I said, regardless it was a great read. Thank you for dropping by.

  2. Pingback: Book Promo/Giveaway: Lancaster House by Taylor Dean | Lizzy's Dark Fiction

  3. Pingback: Lancaster House {#Book Spotlight} »

Leave a Reply

