Book Review: Desert Rice by Angela Scott

The Solitary Bookworm & My Reading Addiction Blog Tours presents Desert Rice by Angela Scott

Title: Desert Rice
Author: Angela Scott
Pages: 225
Publisher: Evolved Publishing
Date Published: 8/13/2012
Source: My Reading Addition Blog Tour

Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N

Samantha Jean Haggert is a beautiful twelve-year-old girl—but no one knows it. All they see is an awkward boy in a baseball cap and baggy pants. Sam’s not thrilled with the idea of hiding her identity, but it’s all part of her older brother’s plan to keep Sam safe from male attention and hidden from the law. Fifteen-year-old Jacob will stop at nothing to protect his sister, including concealing the death of the one person who should have protected them in the first place—their mother.

Sam and Jacob try to outrun their past by stealing the family car and traveling from West Virginia to Arizona, but the adult world proves mighty difficult to navigate, especially for two kids on their own. Trusting adults has never been an option; no adult has ever given them a good reason. But when Sam meets “Jesus”—who smells an awful lot like a horse—in the park, life takes a different turn. He saved her once, and may be willing to save Sam and her brother again, if only they admit what took place that fateful day in West Virginia. The problem? Sam doesn’t remember, and Jacob isn’t talking.

REVIEW

Sam and Jacob are on the run. After hauling their dead mother, they skipped town. What happened? Where are they going? How will they survive? Sam and Jacob are both teenagers trying to survive outside their trailer home. Without any parent, they are forced to fend for themselves but as days passed it seems like both Sam and Jacob has something to hide.

Sam is such a timid girl. Very head strong and a bit childish at first. She doesn’t want the road they are heading and it scares her to death. In addition to having a bossy brother, Sam tries to make the most out of their miserable life. Jacob on the other hand tries to be strong. Although he is of a young age, Jacob continues to find ways on how to make them survive. He took odd jobs and took everything, for Sam.

The story is actually tricky to follow at first. Learning the same broke my heart. It was hard not to put this book down. Information is relayed bit by bit which makes the story more agreeable to read. You’ll know from very start that there is something wrong with the scenario yet you aren’t given the given picture instantly. The author gives you ample time to absorb the gravity of the event and when you come to the climax it would really make you catch your breath. This is not a happy story, well not happy all throughout, and the author did end it beautifully. The author will show you that Sam and Jacob isn’t perfect, they have flaws and the world is cruel yet the author will also show you that when you reach the end of your journey it can be worth the trip. Desert Rice is a good example of writing an effective story. To sum it all up – Desert Rice was riveting and breath taking! Would definitely recommend.

 

AUTHOR BIO

Blog | @whimsywriting | Facebook

I hear voices. Tiny fictional people sit on my shoulders and whisper their stories in my ear. Instead of medicating myself, I decided to pick up a pen, write down everything those voices tell me, and turn it into a book. I’m not crazy. I’m an author. For the most part, I write contemporary Young Adult novels.

However, through a writing exercise that spiraled out of control, I found myself writing about zombies terrorizing the Wild Wild West—and loving it. My zombies don’t sparkle, and they definitely don’t cuddle. At least, I wouldn’t suggest it.

I live on the benches of the beautiful Wasatch Mountains with two lovely children, one teenager, and a very patient husband. I graduated from Utah State University with a B.A. degree in English, not because
of my love for the written word, but because it was the only major that didn’t require math. I can’t spell, and grammar is my arch nemesis. But they gave me the degree, and there are no take backs.

As a child, I never sucked on a pacifier; I chewed on a pencil. I’ve been writing that long. It has only been the past few years that I’ve pursued it professionally, forged relationships with other like-minded individuals, and determined to make a career out of it. You can find me at my website, where I blog obsessively about my writing process and post updates on my current works. I’m also on Twitter and Facebook, but be forewarned, I tweet and post more than a normal person.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

