Guest Post: Meeting Deadlines and Keeping your Sanity at the Same Time by Angela Scott + Giveaway

Photobucket

The Solitary Bookworm opens its doors to Angela Scott who is the author of Desert Rice. I already read the book and recommend it. Read my review and you’ll know why. 🙂  Let’s give it up for Angela Scott!

Meeting Deadlines and Keeping your Sanity at the Same Time

I’m actually writing this post at the same time that I have two deadlines looming over my head. The first is for a short story to be included in a YA Anthology. The deadline is September 1st and I haven’t even typed one word of it. The second is for my novel Survivor Roundup due to be released at the end of November, but to have that come to fruition I need to have it done and handed over to my editors by the first part of September as well. But…the book has no ending. I still need to write one. September is coming fast.

Ahhh, the joy of deadlines. They’re a necessary evil. Without deadlines, nothing would ever get done. Because believe me, procrastinating is easy and writing a book is hard. I can easily find a million other things to do than actually sit down at my laptop and write, especially when the writing comes painfully slow. That’s not fun. Youtube cat videos are fun.

Just the word DEADLINE sounds so…awful. I mean, it has the word dead in it. That can’t be good.

For me, it’s all about attitude. If we look at deadlines as evil and impossible to meet, we will begin to begrudge them and we won’t perform to our best ability, ultimately leading us to miss the deadline. So instead of looking at it as a foe, we need view deadlines differently. We don’t want to take them lightly, defiantly not, but  if we can change our attitude, embrace the deadline as a friend, or a helper, then the whole idea of a deadline becomes easier.

Because what are deadlines for anyway? To help us achieve our goals and attain our dreams. Maybe we should change the name from DEADLINE to GOAL LINE. Doesn’t that sound better?

Some tips to meet the goal line:

  1. Embrace it, but in that process make sure it’s realistic. Most often times deadlines are broken because we didn’t block out enough time or provide ourselves with a buffer to account for mistakes that will happen or problems that may pop up. An insane deadline WILL make you insane. That is a given. Don’t do that to yourself.
  2. Break your project down into smaller steps with smaller goal lines. If the whole novel is to be complete by say, September 1st, then do little bite size chunks between now and then, whatever those goals may be—write 2,000 words a day for example. Like they say, Q: “How do you eat an elephant?” A: One bite at a time.
  3. Reward yourself. I love this tip. Pats on the back are nice, but a new purse or a pair of shoes is awesome! Do whatever it takes to meet those goals. You met your 2k for the day?  Treat yourself to something special—an ice-cream, a movie, a walk in the park (always good to relax your mind and get your creative juices flowing). Rewards work great for little kids, but they work miracles for writers.
  4. Form a cheerleading group. Tell your friends and family about your deadline and have them help and encourage you to meet it. When you get your friends and family on board, it will be easier to miss a family function or turn down a lunch date. They will understand.
  5. Lastly, don’t be so hard on yourself. Commit to your deadlines, but refuse to allow it to destroy you. So you missed the deadline, life happens, take a deep breath, review what happened, and then create a new goal line and try again. It’s okay.
  6. Now I’m off to meet my goal lines. Wish me luck. I hope I write my 2k today because that new pair of pumps in the store window display is calling to me.

** GIVEAWAY **

People who are following TSB already knows how giveaways are handled in TSB but for the benefit of our new friends – all you have to do to win a copy of Desert Rice is to fill out the form located in TSBs Facebook Page here (click click the link) and that’s it! Good luck ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

