Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Pages: 213
Publisher: MTV Books and Pocket Books
ISBN: 0671027344

This haunting novel about the dilemma of passivity vs. passion marks the stunning debut of a provocative new voice in contemporary fiction: The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

This is the story of what it’s like to grow up in high school. More intimate than a diary, Charlie’s letters are singular and unique, hilarious and devastating. We may not know where he lives. We may not know to whom he is writing. All we know is the world he shares. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it puts him on a strange course through uncharted territory. The world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends. The world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite.

REVIEW

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, asides The Fault in the Stars, I think is one of the most visible books in Tumblr. Yup, yeah heard me! It’s insanely popular – but that’s not why I read it. Far from it actually. Okay so where do I start?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is an absolute must read! It is one of those books that I believe everyone should’t read out of curiousity but simply because it’s an awesome read. A little tidbit – before I read The Perks of Being a Wallflower I avoided reading reviews on Goodreads since I don’t want to spoil the mystery of the books. I didn’t want to have a biased opinion or to even have an opinion before I read the first page and good thing I didn’t because I loved it.

Charlie narrates the story through a series of letters. I love books that are written this way, it made me feel like Charlie was confiding or talking to me directly. It made it more personal and realistic in my opinion and to tell you right now, I didn’t think he’s childish or immature or whatever readers brand him to be. He’s different. That’s the bottom line. He’s very timid, aloaf and antisocial and may view and do things differently compared to kids his age but that’s Charlie and I love every bit of him.

The book talks about almost everything that teenagers underwent through or thought about trying to in their young life. Sex, drugs, patries, smoking and all that jazz that makes up what highschool life really is. I may never have done drugs or went to a lot of parties but my eye definitely opened up to a lot of thing when I was in highschool and it’s all normal. For me, this are the realities that a teenager needs to be aware of – they just need to have that self control of not going overboard. This is one of those books that I would encourage my children to read if ever I’ll have one for the sole purpose of opening their eyes to what’s out there.

Another thing I loved about the story is the tons of books that was discuss in it. I just started reading classics and this book had a lot of interesting reads that I would one of these days read myself. Who doesn’t love a book that talks about another book right?

Everyone of us is different in our own quirky way and Charlie is like anybody else. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is yet another reason why to read banned books. I can’t emphasize enough in this review how more I adore Perks so I’ll just leave you with quote eh?

And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.

So, I guess we are who we are for alot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.

and for the most quoted of them all –

we accept the love we think we deserve.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

  1. Pingback: Being a wallflower « Portia Placino

  2. Pingback: Perks Of Being A Wallflower – my thoughts « Arnab's Web Log

Leave a Reply

