Guest Post: Why Covers are so Important + Giveaway

Hello guys. Please welcome A.L. Jackson on the blog today, author of Pulled! I just reviewed Pulled and I loved it. Don’t want to gush or rant here since A.L. deserves all the spotlight! 🙂 Without further ado –

Hey All! I’m A. L. Jackson, author of Pulled and Take This Regret. I just wanted to thank Insomnia of Books for allowing me to share with all of you today, and on such a cool topic, Why Book Covers are so Important.

So let’s be honest…how many of you have purchased a book based on the cover alone? I have! Most of us are very visual creatures, our attention caught by the beautiful, the unique, and at times, the incredibly strange. We’re drawn to color and style, sharp lines, and bold words.

But what does that mean for covers? They say you only have a few seconds to capture someone’s attention on the internet, and when 80% of books today are sold on Amazon and with the massive number of titles that are listed there, it’s now more important than ever for covers to catch a potential reader’s eye.

There are a few key elements every book cover should have. The first and foremost is it should be pleasing to the eye—something that makes someone browsing titles stop and think, Wow, that’s an amazing cover. This is the point where your cover has done its job in making someone take a closer look at the book itself. The cover should also tell the potential reader something about the story inside, the design consistent with the genre of the book, although it should be unique enough that it stands out from the crowd. It should also give the reader a hint at the amazing story they will find inside.

Covers are so important because it’s the first thing someone sees—the main thing that will tell a potential reader to move or to take a closer look.

So what is it about a cover that draws your attention?

GIVEAWAY

It’s that time again you guys. Same as before, all you have to do is fill out the form in TSBs Facebook Page and that’s it! Good luck to everyone who enters and who ever wins, I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did. Toodles!

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Why Covers are so Important + Giveaway

  1. You are so spot on about the cover. I have picked up more books and took a second look just because of the beauty or intrigue. I love the cover of Pulled 🙂

  2. I’ve never just bought a book based on the cover, but a cover can draw me in and make me take notice. Then it’s up to the blurb and reviews whether I’ll buy it. A lame cover can totally turn me off though and I might never even give it a second look. Funny thing is, I’ve really enjoyed some books that had terrible covers, and even knowing this, I’m still not likely to give them a chance.

Leave a Reply

