Book Review: Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Title: Beautiful Disaster
Author: Jamie McGuire
Pages: 527
ISBN: B0052VUNHC
Source: Netgalley

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

REVIEW

Reading Beautiful Disaster was such a whirlwind experience. My experience and emotions was synonymous of how Travis and Abby was in their relationship – hard to focus when you have that much emotion circling inside you. I think the story stayed true to the title of the book though.

Travis was so volatile. One moment he’s your knight in shining armor and on the next moment it was like flipping a switch and you have a very aggressive, angry and immature guy. Abby had the same approach – one moment she’s mature and composed then very ill tempered and bitchy. Sometimes I could not understand their relationship and it can be very irritating yet heartfelt.

Indeed their relationship was very dysfunctional as mentioned by Abby but it the reason for me wasn’t the owning part, it was I think being too dependent with each other. Travis acted like an a-hole and Abby tolerated it until she couldn’t anymore. The relationship was very destructive.

Do you know what co-dependecy is Abby? Your boyfriend is a prime example, which is creepy considering he went from having no respect for women at all to thinking he needs you to breath.

I don’t know how many of you felt in the first part all gooey, cute and mushy about these two and when they became a couple all hell broke lose too. The ending, wasn’t too believable in my opinion. I can do without that, it just doesn’t fit for me in this case. The mob and Mick, that I would love to have read more. Created more drama and friction but hey I could only hope.

Even I am becoming uncertain of how I’ll rate this book (if that is a good thing, I do not know yet) I’m torn with giving this a 2 or a 4 but most of the time it’s a 3. Let me explain, there are parts of the book that I so hate Abby and Travis and everyone around them who just tolerates their sh*t – that’s a 2 but there are moments that they are soo uber cute and darn romantic and perfect for each other – here’s your 4. 3 is just the middle ground and no matter how I contemplate on the rating, I remember Abby and Travis and it goes from 2 to 4 or the other way around again.

I’ve got to say though – I do understand that there are troubled lovers out there who makes a relationship work and my heart is with you guys but Abby and Travis’ relationship is very (can’t even think of an appropriate adjective here) alarming but as I said there were highlights in the relationship part. I think the reason why I focus mainly on Abby and Travis rather than the whole story is because they drove the story end to finish and I also have to say that this book needs to be read with caution due to its nature. For rating purposes, lets use a 3 and I hope I got my point as to why it’s a 3 but to help you decide I’ve linked a couple of reviews below.

Leave a Reply

